Open Forum

Dangerous: Modification of Your Rquipment.

• 1.  Dangerous: Modification of Your Rquipment.

Posted 7 days ago
    Edited by Larry Larsen 7 days ago
    I've noticed a number of forum posts where owners are describing rewiring, door locks mechanism changes and vacumn break bypassing.

I’m passing on a warning to new owners that modifications may be creating personal legal liability and putting the health of their customers at risk. Factory warranties are based on maintaing factory designs and using OEM approved parts.

During and after your warranty expires, the protection of the factory lawyers, settlement money and long term health care may not be available to protect you.  Do you have the cash and resources to pay out of your own pocket for injuries your modifications may cause?

Try taking an automobile to your dealer after you've made modifications to air intake, exhaust and engine upgrades and see if they do free engines repairs.

As an insurance agent, I've seen too many owners who have failed to properly install, operate or repair to factory standards. A letter of reservations letter tells you the insurance company may not be paying for the injuries you caused because you modified the factory design.

Respond with your examples, comments and opinions. 
    ------------------------------
    Larry Larsen
    Laundromat123.com
    Anaheim, CA
    Distributor - Insurance - Consulting
    Cell: (714) 390-9969

• 2.  RE: Dangerous: Modification of Your Rquipment.

Posted 7 days ago
    Totally agree with you Larry!

Be careful in making modifications to your machines. If someone gets hurt, or if you get a major fire, your modifications can allow the manufacturer to absolve themselves of any responsibility. It's all on you then.

And why not? If your modified door lock doesn't lock the door, or if it gives a customer a shock, you can be blamed 100%.

Paulie B
    Multiple Mat Owner since 1976
    New York City, NY