Open Forum

ATM in Your Laundromat

• 1.  ATM in Your Laundromat

Posted 02-01-2019 16:08
    Hello Everyone -
    So I am somewhat new to the laundry business, so please bear with me.

We have a relatively small laundromat, 27 washers 25 dryers.  However, we do stay busy and the wash and fold is getting to be more popular.  One thing we get asked probably 7-10 times per week is if we have an ATM.  We do not, but it is something I am seriously looking into buying.  I spoke to a rep and I can buy one for about $2,000 and $0.10 per transaction.  Going fee other ATMs tends to be is around $3.00 per transaction.  So a $2.90 profit each time its used.

My question, even though I think the necessity may be worth it in itself, is does your laundromat justify an ATM if you have one?  I wish I could have just a somewhat guess of the usage of it, but I really don't know.  I know the people that, the people who do not ask, the people who are already aware we do not have one so they hit up an ATM elsewhere before coming to our laundromat and lets not forget about the people in the neighborhood who need a bit of cash for a 1/8th of weed ;-)

So it seems it could be used more than what I think it might be.  The way I calculated it was with a $3.00 transaction fee minus the $0.10 processing fee, the machine should pay for itself in 7 months and 20 days if used an average of 3 times per day.

Now I don't know our customer count so it depends on how busy a laundromat is, but has an ATM been a good addition to your laundromats?

------------------------------
    Thank you
    Josh Strong
    Lee's Summit Laundry
    Phone:  (816) 347-8847
    Email:  leessummitlaundry@gmail.com
    Web:  www.leessummitlaundry.com
    Join CLA - Enjoy Membership Benefits

• 2.  RE: ATM in Your Laundromat

Posted 02-01-2019 16:38